Archinect
anchor

OMA Internship

enpapier

So... I have an interview with OMA in a few days for a fall internship. I was wondering if anyone could tell me if working as an intern at OMA is as... involved as I hear it is? What should I expect in the interview? How is living in Rotterdam? I'm a second year under-grad student, I've already done an internship in New York for a large firm over the winter. Any info would be helpful.

Jul 25, 08 3:02 am
randomized

First of all congratulations. Try to be pro-active and show an interest and enthusiasm in different aspects of the job or you might be stuck slicing blue foam for 3 months. Also be prepared for ridiculous working hours and working weekends, forget any form of social life besides the people you see at the office, you'll only leave for sleeping...but enjoy it and you'll have a great addition to your resume.

Jul 25, 08 4:31 am  · 
 · 
nb072

I've heard they ask a lot of hard questions at the interview. But your chances of getting a job at (S)OMA are certainly better in the fall than in the summer. I absolutely hate the idea of absurd working hours - but it'll be good experience, hopefully.

Jul 25, 08 1:37 pm  · 
 · 
Xing

probably you have checked the video on his website, tells the world how their office life is and how is the feeling of the happy interns there. One of my friend has been slept for 6 days and still hanging on. anyway, if you are still energetic enough, go ahead.

If you love him, sent him to OMA, that is heaven

if you hate him, sent him to OMA, that is hell...

Jul 25, 08 2:00 pm  · 
 · 
Xing

very sooory, actually that should be has NOT been slept for 6 days

Jul 25, 08 2:01 pm  · 
 · 

They do ask some odd questions in the interview but Marc (the guy who interviewed me) left the same day I did. I didn't get much time to figure out what the new guy was like.