Archinect
anchor

Returning to architecture - portfolio advice needed.

sweet em

Ten years ago I graduated with a M.Arch.  After graduation I worked as a designer/project manager for a real estate developer and right about the time I had my first baby the market crashed and the developer went out of business.  I settled into full-time child raising and part time consulting work for a historic preservation advocacy group.  I've done that for 6 years.  Now I am ready to go back to architecture full-time...but... I am frozen by my portfolio, or more appropriately, lack thereof. 

This is what I have -

- Hand drawn school projects, 10+ years old.

- CAD drawn, photoshop rendered school projects, 10+ years old.

- SIte plan renderings from developer job.

- 2-3 freelance jobs, house additions - just CAD plans.

- Some graphic design.

- Images from my own renovation of 2 homes.

I am qualified for entry-level jobs, but compared with a recent graduate my portfolio images are pretty basic.  My best work was from school, it is 10 years old and I have enough real world experience to know how silly some of the concepts are.  I just can't imagine pretending confidence as I present it in an interview.   

So I guess the question is - Is it worth using my school portfolio, at all? 

Some of the designs are decent, should I redraw/render them to the graphic style that I see on-line today?  Should I do conceptual drawings of projects that are currently proposed around my town?

In terms of value I would bring to an entry-level position, I have have experience from a developer perspective, as well as from the community.  I have 6 years of public speaking experience as a community advocate.  I have AutoCAD skills, but no Revit. 

Which brings me to one more question, are recent graduates using Revit in school?

Jul 10, 13 12:15 pm
accesskb