Archinect
anchor

Business student needing some advice

JoshuaRim

Hello,

I just finished my first year of Bachelor of Commerce and am heading into year 2.

I plan on applying for Architect grad school once I finish my 4 year program, and I was hoping to get some advice from people who are/have been in a similar situation.

First off, business and architecture might not sound like an ideal combination, but it is something I have always been passionate about, and who knows? Maybe having a foundation in business may help in later years ^^

So basically, I was just hoping to get some advice and counselling from the far more experienced people of Archinect. What is your opinion of getting a Business degree before Architecture school, as opposed to the more traditional route of bachelor of architecture, english, arts, etc.

I'm studying in Canada, if that changes anything.

Thanks!

Jun 11, 13 7:06 pm
vado retro

if you want to know about the business of architecture listen to uiuc professional practice class on the schiff hardin website

Jun 11, 13 7:55 pm  · 
 · 
gruen
Probably a great combo. But you will need a portfolio for Archi school.
Jun 11, 13 7:58 pm  · 
 · 
JoshuaRim

Thanks for the replies

So how exactly does one go about making a portfolio? Is it strictly limited to professional work, or can you include school work and personal artwork?

Jun 11, 13 8:06 pm  · 
 · 
jll3

My undergrad was in business, but I had always planned on going to grad school for architecture... my portfolio consisted of work from a few graphic design and drawing classes I had taken in the past, didn't have any architecture related work. The graphic design stuff was probably the most helpful since I spent a couple spreads showing my design process, other than that it was drawings in different media and some photography.

Jun 11, 13 8:49 pm  · 
 · 
observant

I did this exact combination.  There are pluses and minuses: