Archinect
anchor

2009 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

joearch8

n400, if you can afford it, i would send one anyway.

Jan 6, 09 4:01 am  · 
 · 
n400

I think I'm pretty good at drawing and planned to stick a few drawings into one of those simple black Itoya portfolios.

I know that a lot of the posts on this site would disagree about whether or not that's adequate, but most of them don't cite sources; for all I know, the source is the other ten people who said that without mentioning any sources. If the school wanted more, why would they say that portfolios aren't even necessarily required?

It's the only graduate program I'm applying to, because I honestly believe that their research matches with my interests better than any of the other programs'. I also think that I'm a talented enough artist to succeed in the program, but I don't have much recent proof except some drawings.

What do you think?

Jan 6, 09 4:55 am  · 
 · 
n400

If anyone is willing to give honest criticism, I will scan and e-mail you some of my drawings. I'm sorry if I came off at all hostile. I have a tremendous amount of respect for all of the portfolios I've seen on this site.

Jan 6, 09 5:06 am  · 
 · 
calihoya

Thanks, Just Tim - I was thinking of going in that route, but definitely wanted another opinion. Can't wait to get this stuff finished!

Jan 6, 09 11:03 am  · 
 · 
Entasis79

joentasis...NICE name!

n400...I am at the BAC right now. I would def recommend sending a portfolio. It can get you out of a few of the foundation courses, if they see what they like.

What is this "research" that you speak of?

Jan 6, 09 11:50 am  · 
 · 
n400

entasis- broadly, sustainability in florida (I'm applying to UF not BAC, but I guess they both say portfolios are optional).

I doubt that I will be able to get out of foundation courses anyway. If I tried to make a slick fancy portfolio, I would probably look idiotic, but I do plan to send some drawings.

Jan 6, 09 12:24 pm  · 
 · 
freezingtimbers