Archinect
anchor

To Employed Architects

ksmx

As an unemployed intern, I'm curious about employed architects, especially young architects and fresh graduates that graduated near the latest recession. I'm frustrated with my job search and was wondering whether my way of doing it is wrong or not. So, I got some questions for you lucky architects.

-How did you manage to get your foot in the door for your first summer job/ entry level position when you have no job experience during economic recession?

-With so many schools focus in teaching photoshop skill and not how to prepare CDs, how did you manage to convince your boss to let you do, for example,  your first stair detail drawings?

-How many unpaid internships did you do before getting your first paid job?

-Does connections from networking work better than awesome portfolio in getting your first job?

-How much help did you get from your professors in landing your first paid job?

-Is it more important to let employers know that you know how to do everything (model making and rendering) or let them know that you specialize in one thing?

-Did you have to relocate for your first job?

-Does LEED certification help?

May 15, 13 11:11 am
3tk

Luckily my first job was during the boom (3 positions, 2 applicants) but more recently:

- jobs are easier to come by through a network (friends, alumni); you get the foot in the door by telling firms how great they are and how you would love the opportunity to see the studio and take a tour - an "informational interview"

-you're going to be cheap (to the firm); they'll have to teach you a bit on detailing, but if you're familiar with the graphic standards, you should be useful enough to make it worth their while.

-none.  if it's unpaid, they should be actively mentoring you; if you're working on billable work, then you should be paid (legally and ethically).  it may be $9/hr, but def paid.