Archinect
anchor

Employers: Importance of School Name versus graduating debt free

dotdotdot

I know you can't really answer this question for me, but any thoughts from a professional standpoint would be very helpful.

I am originally from Nashville, TN and I graduated from Wash U with a BFA . I applied to architecture school for pre-professional (3+ yrs) degree.

I was accepted at UVA (one of my top choices). I was very excited about the idea of attending, but now I was also accepted to GA tech with a full ride (tuition + stipend). I don't have financial aid info back from UVA yet and I'm still waiting on a few schools for responses.

What is the benefit to a slightly more prestigious program versus going to school for basically free?

ugh. my brains hurt.

Mar 10, 08 12:32 pm
pvbeeber

Go to UVA if that's where you want to go. Do you want to spend the rest of your life wondering what would have happened if you had gone to your first choice instead of settling? I took on $60k of debt to go to my first choice (was also offered a full ride somewhere else) and have no regrets.

Also, keep in mind that your offers are negotiable to a certain extent. There's nothing wrong with calling UVA, telling them you were offered a full ride somewhere else, and asking if there's anything they can do to help you decide. I did the same and got over $20k in scholarships. Never hurts to ask.

Mar 10, 08 12:55 pm  · 
 · 
4arch

Going by prestige alone, I think the biggest consideration is where you think you'll want to work when you get out. If you plan to stay in the south GA Tech will be a good choice, if you plan to work in DC or anywhere north of it, UVA is probably a better choice.