Archinect
anchor

Not sure about school

sisforscoop

I am a first year student in a 5 year BArch program. The whole year I haven't been sure if it is for me. The work stresses me out more than I enjoy it. I am doing pretty well though because I work really hard. I'm not the type of person to slack off at all. If I am unsure does that mean I should change majors? Do people actually enjoy school and not getting sleep or being socially isolated? How different is school from the working world...because if it like what I am doing now, then I don't want to continue.

Any advice helps..I am confused

Mar 10, 08 11:49 am
rkeytorchr

Well I am "riding the fence" on this one... I am stubborn and have wanted to be an architect since I was five years-old. I love the notion of 'architecture' however, what you are doing in school as far as all nighters (coming up with the 'stand alone' projects... and designing a great solution) I personally, do not think that is what you can look forward to... you probably won't be designing much, if anything right off the bat. I got in a position (that I was glad when I first got... that wears off!) I now do miscellaneous drafting for people that design the fun stuff... often times I am not busy (enough...) and there is the fact that the firm I work at is more of a business office rather than a creative Architectural firm... be careful (if you do stay in...) where you get hired... do your research!
There are many days where I say... "if I would have gone into_________?" Go with your gut... and good luck!

Mar 10, 08 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
linebind