Archinect
anchor

accepting the first offer...a bad idea?

renmonk

I'm in my last semester of a 4 yr architecture program. One of the first firms I talked to about a job after I graduate offered me a position almost immediately, although they have yet to make me a formal offer (with pay information). It sounds great- it's the place I want to be, the size of firm I want to work in, they seem really laid back and truly committed to issues of sustainability. Unfortunately I can't visit, because it's in another state and with my school schedule right now I can't take a weekend off.

Originally I was just going to take it, unless they wanted to pay me really badly. But I'm getting a lot of flak from people who are telling me, get a LOT of offers first, so you can compare them and leverage them to barter and get a higher pay.

I'm less concerned about an extra few thousand dollars a year than I am about a positive work culture and environment, which this firm seems to have.

I also have NO time this semester, and my portfolio isn't exactly finished yet.

Should I keep them on the line, possibly a month, until I can get some more offers, or should I go ahead and take it? I'm just not sure a little more money is worth the effort right now, and I like everything I've seen about the place...

Mar 4, 08 5:27 pm
mleitner

It is always good to weigh several options. Going to offices in person gives you the chance see and meet the people you will be working with and for - a suitable work environment is probably the most important factor in long-term happiness at a job.

Also, be sure to speak with your employer about your responsibilities: what exactly will be your responsibilities. This will give you valuable information about where your career in this office will be headed.