Archinect
anchor

Construction Documents Salary/Compensation Advice

ArchNyen

Hello All,

I am a recent M.Arch graduate, so I am new to the profession and would like some advice.

A general contractor and family acquaintance ask me to create construction documents for an existing (1,500 sqf) building and new construction.  The construction is a renovation from a carport into a (775 sqf) garage with an additional second story space for future occupancy use. 

My question is, how much should I charge for the service? Any liability issues should I be concern about? Any advice will be of great help.

Thanks,

Q

Apr 14, 13 9:43 pm
chris-chitect

I can't say I have the best advice, and I realise this doesn't answer your question, but I'm more curious as to what kind of contract you have in place. I've tried to do the odd project like this in the past and it's ended in disaster. At the very least, have a retainer in place and don't begin work until a bit of money is in your hands. 

I do know someone out of an M.Arch that was getting $25 from a contractor per hour which I think was pretty good. 

Apr 15, 13 4:20 pm  · 
 · 
Broadstreetexpresstrain

Unless you have a 4 or 5 year B.Arch before getting your graduate degree, you are probably not ready to prepare a decent set of construction documents for this project. Yes, any architecture school grad can draw a sexy looking floor plan elevations and maybe even a section or two but, those sexy drawings done with Photoshop and sketchup are not construction documents. I remember when I first graduated and got my first job in an office and received my first assignment. I had to design and draw the construction documents for a real - actual steel stair. I initially said to myself hey after completing my thesis drawings and creating a somewhat complex and intricate cultural education center design, that my stair assignment was somewhat beneath me and would be simple.