Archinect
anchor

Professional or Academic Work in Portfolio

ayodh

I have a BArch degree and one and a half years of work experience and I'm now doing a masters. I'm planning to start to apply for internships in the summer. Given the limit of a two page portfolio, should I include only professional work where I was in the next major decision making and designing role after the principal of the firm, or should I also include work from my BArch thesis? My thesis was more an exploration of an appropriate architecture for a context rather than being a very spectacular building or fulfilling a challenging programme so I don't know how relevant it will be for a job application...any suggestions?

I should add that all my work experience is in India and I'm going to be looking for a job on the East Coast in the US. The projects I have worked on in India are fairly cutting edge if I may say so myself (one of them being a digitally fabricated, 30 meter high, stainless steel gateway), but the construction systems and detailing is naturally different from the US.

How easy is it to even get a job for 1-2 months? Am I applying too early or too late?

Should I even be posting this in the professional practice category or should I have posted this in the academia category? Please Help!

Feb 7, 08 12:14 am
gradapp07

No job = no money = no fun = no dates = no sex = no peace = no sleep = no focus = no creativity = no job...

Feb 8, 08 7:05 am  · 
 · 
cadalyst

why is there a two-page limit?

Feb 10, 08 2:31 pm  · 
 · 
ayodh

i wish i knew the reason for the limit, but alas i don't, that's what the firm says.

Feb 10, 08 11:27 pm  · 
 · 
outthere

They probably want to be woo'd with how effective you are in being concise and to the point with a couple of solid images...

I would try and use them both. One page Academic, one page Professional.