Archinect
anchor

Working for Rafael Vinoly Architects

luckymini

Recently I was interviewed with RVA in New York. The interview went well. I think working there might be a option. but I found the threads online about it are quite negative. Long working hour is one of the biggest issues. I wondering usually when people at RVA can leave the office? 9-10pm? 11-12pm? 1-2am?

May 21, 11 1:22 am
jbushkey

looks like they never get out of the office to reply to this question

May 23, 11 2:27 am  · 
 · 
medi

I had several friends working for his firm a few years back and they all quit.,  I heard it was a totAl sweatshop.

May 23, 11 4:01 pm  · 
 · 
luckymini

I am just a fresh graduate, so I am not considering it as a place to retire. I got a better offer but the firm's work is a little boring. So I am still weighing these options.

May 23, 11 6:01 pm  · 
 · 
Emily Wetherbee

I hear it is the epitome of the architectural sweatshop and has a high tunover rate. You could probably do it for a year or two....and it would be interesting but looooong hours.

May 23, 11 10:02 pm  · 
 · 
sanguebom

VERY long hours. 7 days a week especially if you're fresh out of school. Take the boring job. As a fresh graduate there are many things you need to worry about other than "boring".

May 26, 11 3:31 pm  · 
 · 
uhhhhh

long hours for a fresh graduate in nyc? pretty typical.

landing a job offer right now? very good.

the real question is: how much is the PAY. i did 120+ hours/week at a big nyc firm and could barely afford an already subsidized rent and cheap food.

i know a kid who interns at vinoly's during summers/winter breaks and while he busts his a$$, makes enough money to pay for his food, transportation and school supplies for the entirety of the year and then some.

May 29, 11 5:52 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user

Are you sure you want to block this user and hide all related comments throughout the site?

Archinect