Archinect
anchor

Road to the Project Architect

Jefferson

I am an unlicensed architect with 8 yrs experience (been too busy with projects to get licensed, but plan to do so in the next year). I feel I am a very good designer but have a hard time at work expressing my creativity b/c of the top-heavy design firm I work at. It seems that no matter what kind of design study one does, the final decision goes to the design principal, whose opinion doesn't always reflect what the rest of the team thinks. Is this a sign to get outta dodge and find a firm that celebrates collaborative creativity? Basically I feel no matter what I do, the answer by my PM is "let's see what ____ thinks".

Back to my original question: I am a "job captain" working in CA currently. Once it's done in 6 months, I want to make sure I'm "set up" to become or aspire to be a project architect and not a PM or stay put as a job captain. What things can I do in the workplace to make sure that happens? How do I convey to my superiors that I want to design more at a concept design level and not just organize the drawing set and follow the lead of others?

Thanks.

Jan 28, 08 11:06 pm

final decisions almost always do lie with the design principal - at least if that principal chooses to be involved with all projects. ours leaves things pretty much to the discretion of the pm's.

if your principal is not interested in the exploration that the design team has made, ignoring them when making his/her own proposals, yeah, that might be a fundamental problem with the office for you.

if you're thinking that the principal should just butt out, however, and leave things as you designed them - so that your authorship shines through, for instance - then that's your issue. probably won't ever happen.

Jan 29, 08 7:42 am  · 
 · 
won and done williams