Archinect
anchor

Can anyone shed some light on applying to Architectural Association as an american that's applying to M.Arch I programs here?

mgs

So, I decided to apply to AA months back. Of course I've done nothing but work on my portfolio for the interim. I really wish I had gotten away for the open day in the fall now.

My B.A. is in Finance, I've been out of school for 3.5. Most of the time I worked as a graphic designer doing lots of indesign work. Summer 2006 I did discovery at GSD, loved it- became obsessed, went to open houses last fall decided I wasn't ready to submit a portfolio, I had an opportunity to apprenticeship with a contractor and learn basic construction and building technology, I thought that would be great because I didn't think it would be easy to get that kind of experience after starting m.arch. In the evenings, I enrolled in a bunch of evening courses art courses continuing education school. I had been using rhino before Discovery, I've since learned to script in perl and a bit of python/ruby. Pretty much the past year has been preparing portfolio for M. Arch I apps.

I'm just recanting this because I'm hoping someone that has experience with AA can tell me where my application belongs. I see foundation as the proper choice and I have no objection to that whatsoever.

I would just love to have a little reassurance before shipping this off transatlantic. I tried to find old threads about this, I was shocked I couldn't find any.

Also, what's the penalty for submitting a late application? They give a late deadline as if this is a second round of applications? Is there any reason I wouldn't want to spend more with my portfolio? I assume it's more competitive as spaces decrease? Love to hear from someone who knows.

Jan 7, 08 12:51 am
dlb