Archinect
anchor

Architect's appreciation of the public

mdler

it seems that architects dont appreciate the general public's sensibilities that much...discuss

Oct 22, 07 3:50 pm

that's because they're all idiots...

Oct 22, 07 4:30 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro
GeNeRaLpUbLiC
Oct 22, 07 5:14 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

buncha jackasses...

Oct 22, 07 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

ROFLMAO!

Oct 22, 07 9:29 pm  · 
 · 
Philarch

Wow Meta, you seem to be making fun of both architects and society. Genius.

Oct 22, 07 10:07 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

meta your letter does not support the deloosian idea of desire being productive.

Oct 22, 07 11:42 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac
Dear Public

*ahem*

I am sick of your shit.

I have a normal person for a friend, now as I am an architect, this is hard to fathom but it is true. I am friends with a normal person and this normal person has other normal friends and they all ask me to design normal looking buildings for them that look alot like gabled vaginas. All they want is gabled vaginas, and big boxes, and parking lots for their SUVs.

Now don't get me wrong normal people, I like you as a person and often I have to ask you guys to bum me 10 when I can't pay off my entire tab at the bar and if you can imagine making $10 an hour in NYC and funding an alcholism habit bumming money is, as you can imagine, pretty inevitable. Its just that I'm not interested in normal people things. This is a list of things I am interested in, in no particular order:

Construction details
Peter Zumthor
French Philosophy/Film
Electric cars
Organic triple non-fat, vanilla soy milk lattes with no whip

As you can see, normal people shit, like SUVs, are not on that list. Normal people shit falls somewhere between dis-urban post-suburbanistic quasi-field condition myopia and hell, who am I kidding normal people shit is on the bottom of my list.