Archinect
anchor

Flying home for Christmas?

WonderK

The struggle to find a flight home for the holiday season is new to me. It's hard enough finding a reasonably priced flight, let alone one that doesn't leave from a cornfield in the middle of the night.

Anyone have any suggestions or tips? I used to fly for a living, but I'm out of practice. However, I will share what I have learned in my many "regular", non-holiday travels:

1. Watch your connecting flights, especially if you are connecting at a busy airport. If you don't give yourself at least an hour, good luck with that.

2. Bring food. The airlines don't do this anymore, at least not for free, so you are going to get hungry, and when you do, you'll be glad you brought it.

3. You can sneak Chapstick in your pants pocket, provided you are not rail thin and keen on skin tight ensembles. Don't tell anyone I said this.

4. Atlanta Hartsfield Airport is like Dante's 9 Circles of Hell. Avoid it at all costs. I do, anyway.

Oct 22, 07 3:48 pm
mdler

tell your family you dont love them anymore and spend xmas in sunny California

Oct 22, 07 3:51 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

dubK

you can have Greaters and Skyline shipped....why go home for xmas?

Oct 22, 07 3:52 pm  · 
 · 
WonderK

My entire family lives there.....and my friend is having a baby like, this week. I would like to see all of them. So you see, it is more than just the food calling me back!

Oct 22, 07 4:01 pm  · 
 · 
lletdownl

holy crap a thread about Christmas...

i took Amtrak home last year... it was a very long trip but very cheap and exceptionally comfortable... i had an entire row to myself, and just watched out the window till night time. if you had someone to travel with, it would be worth the long time it takes... going alone got a bit dull, but i had books music and a sketchbook so i more than survived.

Oct 22, 07 4:04 pm  · 
 · 
xtbl

yeah, the train sounds cool and romantic.

lletdownl, where did you travel from/to?

Oct 22, 07 4:11 pm  · 
 ·