Archinect
anchor

Foreign architect blues

corbusier4eva

So, I've earned all my NCARB IDP training units, yay, but I still have to go through the lengthy and expensive EESA education assessment, and then all the ARE exams to complete in order to call myself....

An Architect. Oh, and I get a cool stamp too.

Its a bit disheartening, considering I'm a foreign registered architect since 2003 (I registered after 4 years working and taking an exam), and I've heard horror stories of the NAAB making you repeat 12 grade math and english tests because you have a foreign degree. I've spent 8 years at university for my degrees. Doesn't that count for something??

Any archinectors been through this process and come out the other side? Is going through this process worth it?

Sep 30, 07 12:39 pm
vi_d

What state are you getting your license in and how important is it to get licensed in that particular state? New York has a route for foreign architects licensed in their home country that allows them to skip IDP and NCARB reviews altogether and move directly into taking ARE. You can call New York licensing board and discuss your situation with them. I am doing my license in New York even though I work in Philly…

Sep 30, 07 1:23 pm  · 
 · 
corbusier4eva

I'm in Nevada, but possibly soon to be in either California or Illinois. From what I can tell, licensing in all of these states is a nice to have, but not a necessity.

I'll check out the New York requirements, as if I can bypass the EESA assessment, that would be great!

Sep 30, 07 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

once you're licensed in NY, you can get licensed in all 49 states except cali. I believe if you get licensed in cali its good in all 50 but they may have tougher requirements than NY.

Sep 30, 07 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
myriam