Archinect
anchor

Pursuing a dream with reality nibbling at my...

DeeGee

Sometimes you happen on a piece of information that stays with you, nags you until you are forced to face it head on. Please stay with me...I am a librarian. Recently, on a chance encounter, in another state, I met a librarian that works each day of the week for a different architecture firm. She organizes books and journals, checks for recent editions and suggests titles. You know, librarian things. These are small libraries that don't require daily attention. I thought to myself, I could do that! I can't let go of this idea. I am very well suited for this but need to develop a plan. I was searching for answers and inspiration when I found this discussion forum. I thought to myself...just ask, is there a need for this in the average firm. Are there unorganized, cluttered resource rooms or libraries everywhere in desperate need of ...me? So, I'm hoping for comments, suggestions and, above all, honesty; is there a chance this could work?

If nothing else, thanks for the oppurtunity to put a dream out there for the world to see.

DeeGee

Sep 13, 07 3:35 pm
mdler

many architects have material libraries...essentially a ton of material samples in boxes and on shelves, etc. I know that our material library needs to be organized somewhat. Also, we have lots of binders of material literature that needs to be organized

Sep 13, 07 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
Adamus

Definitely! I know there are several large corporate firms that have full time librarians who organize and manage material sample libraries and prouduct binders, not to mention architectural related books and publications. Their jobs also require coordinating with designers, spec writers and product represenatives.

I bet many smaller firms would also like to have outside consultants who can come in and help them with these tasks as well.

Sep 13, 07 3:40 pm  · 
 ·