Archinect
anchor

Health Hazards in Architecture

Archinect

Inspired by WonderK's most recent forum thread, we've decided to continue a long-shelved feature on Archinect addressing health hazards in architecture. Specifically, what are they, how do they affect your health (and/or the environment), and how do we protect ourselves from the potential damage?

To get started we are requesting that our readers put together some suggestions for materials/practices/habits of concern, common to the architecture studio...

Sep 13, 07 2:16 pm
Apurimac

you know for all we talk about sustainability and helping the environment, the studio spaces of every university i've seen (Except one in China, IRONY!) is chock full of noxious shit that will kill you and every other living thing. Who sprays spray paint indoors? Seriously!

Sep 13, 07 2:23 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

When I was a freshman at school (at the University of Cincinnati) I was more or less put in a position where I had to drive my fellow classmates on field trips every week (I had a car). I brought up the issue of liability with the head of the architecture program at the time who basically blew me off....

anyways, a few weeks later a group of seniors were involved in a horrific automobile accident. They were in the middle of their final thesis studio, getting no sleep, etc, and the driver of a van fell asleep at the wheel and drove the van under the back of a semi truck. The van caught on fire, etc. The driver lost both of his legs in the accident and many others were also seriously injured.

Of course this brought up the issue of the overworking of students as well as whether or not the school should be providing a bus or other forms of transportation

Sep 13, 07 2:24 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac
Of course this brought up the issue of the overworking of students as well as whether or not the school should be providing a bus or other forms of transportation

*sniff* *sniff*...is that sarcasm mdler?

Sep 13, 07 2:26 pm  · 
 ·