Archinect
anchor

Plagiarism and etiquette

oldenvirginia

Ok, so this has been on my mind a while. Let's see if you guys have any opinions on the matter:

When I was an undergrad (at a British uni), there was this one guy who's projects often looked a bit familiar. Anyway, in my final year I got a lot more reading done and suddenly the suspicions started to tie together. You can see where this is going...

I lost count of the projects which he had ripped off - some of the earlier projects were carbon copies. Now, leaving my frustration at the tutors not picking this up aside, what annoyed me the most was that he was clearly a talented guy but he was ripping off others' work - and getting the highest marks in the year for it.

Now - a fair few years later he's attending GSD on the back of great studio marks.

I suppose I should elaborate on what I mean by plagiarism: this guy's projects were not well observed commentaries on existing styles or elaborating unexplored movements, they were based around a pretty photo of a proejct in an old journal, the envelope copied entirely (sometimes plans too) and the project made to fit around. The only editing process was allocating a building to the project at hand.

My question is: have you come across this before? What did you do? I personally did nothing and on learning of his GSD acceptance felt rather annoyed.

Aug 27, 07 11:45 pm
vado retro

hey thats what all those old books are for. way too much emphasis is put on being "creative" and not enough is placed on being resourceful.

Aug 27, 07 11:53 pm  · 
 · 
Marlin
The value of plagiarism.

Like Vado said, "that's what all those books are for." He's only at fault if he got caught. Otherwise, he's a great designer.

Aug 28, 07 12:31 am  · 
 · 
Katze