Archinect
anchor

Engineers in the field

ArchIneeR

Hi all,

I'm very new to the field and am pretty lost. I just graduated in May in southern california with a B.S. in mechanical engineering. I realized that engineering wasn't for me and that I should do what I like as opposed to selling out for the higher pay and being misserable. Currently I'm interning for a private architect whom has taught me a tremendous amount in the few months that I have been doing it. Unfortunetly the peanuts aren't paying the bills. I have started my "portfolio" with the AutoCAD as-builts I drew up and a sketchup rendering of the house that he and I are currently working on. I am also studying for the LEED AP exam. I hope to start going out and interviewing for a real position in a high-end residential firm or a green-design oriented firm.

If anyone could give me some tips as to what I should be doing with my portfolio, what type of position I could fill, or anything else that could get my foot in the door, it would be most appreciated.

-cheers

Aug 9, 07 4:15 pm
pvbeeber

If you are serious about a career in architecture (i.e. you eventually want to get licensed), you'll need to go back to school for an M. Arch. It sounds like you're enjoying your current job, so I would recommend spending another year (no more) working, building your portfolio, and making sure that this is what you want to do. In the meantime you can start thinking about where you want to go to school and starting the application process. Having a non-architectural background will not be a problem. My background was in liberal arts and structural engineering, and most of my classmates were from unrelated backgrounds. We even had an eye surgeon. If you have drawings or other design-related materials from your mechanical engineering days, I would certainly include them in your portfolio. Good luck and welcome into the fold.

Aug 9, 07 6:37 pm  · 
 · 
ArchIneeR