Archinect
anchor

arch / fashion

I have a general question concerning fashion and was hoping you guys would be able to help. I have a degree in architecture and have been practicing for around 5 years and have always had a strong interest in the fashion industry. I was wondering who designers get to design and produce drawings for their fashion shows? I would assume that larger fashion houses have their own staff of designers that specifically deal w/ this. Am i correct in assuming this? If not what is the norm within the industry?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Jul 17, 07 2:58 pm
mdler

most designers have clothes, not drawings, in their shows. Most designers design thier clothes

Jul 17, 07 3:10 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

i think longhorn is talking about the person designing/drawing the runways and showrooms and such...not sure though

Jul 17, 07 3:13 pm  · 
 · 
longhorn

yeah sorry i mean the runway and show itself.

Jul 17, 07 3:15 pm  · 
 · 
binary

i'm on my way in that route.... i launched my t-shirt line to get the buzz out there and currently working on some other lines.....but it's alot of work and trying to find a seamstress to work with is a problem..... if you are looking to do prototypes for clothing...find an older lady/seamstress that knows her shit.... alot of youngins in the fashion industry will give you problems since they will try to design yours shit......

good luck

b

Jul 17, 07 3:16 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

most of that stuff is probably done by a production design company. I am sure that the fashion designers have some imput, depending on the type of show that it is. I am also sure that they do have architects design their shows (proably ahve a better chance if you have designed their showroom)

Jul 17, 07 3:24 pm  · 
 · 
nambypambics