Archinect
anchor

Free Time

sunsetsam

Well sometimes the architectural profession and/or academics can suck a lot of free time. Do any of you guys have free time, whether you are a student, intern, or long time architect. If so, what do you do, i.e., your hobbies. And is it even possible to have free time as an arch. student?

Jul 16, 07 8:20 am

if architecture and renovating my house are my hobbies, does that count as free time?

Jul 16, 07 10:44 am  · 
 · 
liberty bell

Archinect is my free time.

As a student, I would work endlessly for a few weeks then blow off an entire weekend doing a road trip or something, then gear back up and do it all over again. So free time was minimal but intense.

Jul 16, 07 10:48 am  · 
 · 
Cameron

I design buildings in my free time....

Jul 16, 07 10:58 am  · 
 · 
treekiller

I garden and save the earth via archinect

Jul 16, 07 11:03 am  · 
 · 

lol.

free time? not so much of it lately. which is good thing.

took afternoon off to go rollerblading with daughter the eldest today, and then went out to meet some artists travelling from the US for dinner...which was very nice and relaxing...but means it is now 11:30 pm and i am starting the work day again. time is always something that has to be negotiated an paid for.

as arch. student i had much more free time but spent most of it designing for competitions. my hobby in archi-school was to practice architecture...in hindsight maybe a bit sick.

Jul 16, 07 11:05 am  · 
 · 

It depends what you mean by 'free time'. Design is more like a lifestyle choice than a job. Even when you go to the beach you are going to be thinking about the infrastructure that got you there, the piazza of the town you are in, the buildings around you, etc... At home, checking the web, you are thinking about how the news you are reading affect the built environment, etc...