Archinect
anchor

Difficulties to find an architect job in Chicago

nachouseros

Hi everyone,

I'm a spanish architect who has moved to Chicago 2 months ago. I find it very difficult to find a job here. I have sent more than 50 applications and no company has called me for an interview. I think that there must be something that I'm doing or presenting wrong in my resumé or portfolio. I would appreciate it if you could assess my resumé/portfolio and tell me what I should change to adapt it to the US market. I send you here links to my resumé/portfolio:

http://www.slideshare.net/nachouseros/resume-portfolio-useros-14456924

I have seven years of professional experience but I know I lack of american experience (legislation issues, construction permits, etc) so I am applying for positions ranging from internships to five years experience. Am I maybe overqualified for these positions? Would you erase some experience?

I would highly appreciate it if you could help me.

Thank you in advance,

Nacho

Oct 16, 12 1:21 pm
Maria M

I can't comment on particulars of finding a job in chicago but I can comment on your portfolio in general - it looks a bit studenty and for someone with seven years of experience you don't seem to have any built projects. I think there are too many "designers" on the market at the moment - that's why newly qualified architects find it hardest to get a job - and if you want to be noticed you need to have a solid proven experience of built work. Hope it helps.

Oct 18, 12 8:05 am  · 
 · 
lletdownl

Nacho,