Archinect
anchor

waterless urinals

rtdc

I spec'd waterless urinals for a LEED project I am doing, but a new guy on the team says they are terrible and wants to use low flow urinals instead. I have no first hand experience with waterless urinals, and wondered if anyone has used them / been to a bathroom that has them.

Is the smell bad? Do they require a lot of maintenance?

Any help would be appreciated.

May 25, 07 11:30 am
postal

bldgblog...just had a little post on how bad the smell was...i don't know first hand...

May 25, 07 11:37 am  · 
 · 
n_

I have used them once.

They didn't smell bad and continue to work well. There was a lot of hesitation from the contractor for they had never installed them before.

May 25, 07 11:38 am  · 
 · 

I've used them! And yes I did bend over to smell...it didn't smell any different than a typical urinal (sweet smelling piss) otherwise i cant help you much

May 25, 07 11:40 am  · 
 · 
larslarson

reedtimothy...had the same problem on our current job... the client
wanted waterless urinals..but at the last moment switched them back
to the standard typical urinal. i think the first wave is always difficult
to spec since you don't know about performance over time, ease of
purchasing required fluids etc...but once they are more common i
can't see why they won't be commonplace.. any building doing proper
maintenance (ie cleaning your bathrooms at least twice a week) should
be able to keep these from smelling up the joint.

basically i think the main thing holding these back is perception.

May 25, 07 11:54 am  · 
 · 
simples

there is some periodical maintenance you have to perform (replacing some "sealant fluit" cartridge every X weeks)...my previous office had them, they worked great, but you would "know" when it was time to replace the cartridge...

i guess if the cleaning crew is not informed about cartridges and when to change them, you would get some really bad results...

May 25, 07 11:55 am  · 
 · 
mdler