Archinect
anchor

The construction worker hates the architect....true???

Jamchar

I dont know about the rest of you but I have had some questionable experiences with blue collar folk that actually build the ideas we create (or will create/ or at least be a part of creating).

I told a carpenter of 40 years I was going for my masters in Architecture
He responds: "you really want to be one of those guys that think they know everything, but really dont know shit?"

My fiance's dad (superintendant) "more architects are the last thing we need."

"An engineer knows everything about something, an architect knows nothing about everything." construction manager

I worked for an electrician for 6 months: his quote: "you better not be one of those architects (99%) that forgets your ideas must be built by real people"

what are your thoughts?

May 21, 07 11:38 pm
KEG

I work for contractors...they ALL hate architects (and make fun of me- even though I'm not an Architect). That's ok though, a lot of architects hate most contractors.

Everyone hates the engineers.

May 21, 07 11:50 pm  · 
 · 
aspect

less lions in the perspectives of the hyena is good.

we are hired by the client to check on the hyena.

May 21, 07 11:56 pm  · 
 · 

yeah, they do. I used to work for a GC, figuring out the problems with the sets and generating RFI's. Somehow, the better the work I did, the less they thought of architects over there. I don't know how many times I heard, "Yeah, well how come these guys are getting paid so much, when I've got a kid in here that can pick their drawings to pieces?"

May 21, 07 11:57 pm  · 
 · 
aspect

oldforgey> tell the old som guy to install another net next to it, same size same colour and by "offsetting the grid", may looks cool!! haha...

May 22, 07 1:12 am  · 
 · 
mdler

i hate construction workers...they all fuck up my beautiful vision with their blue collar lack of skill

May 22, 07 2:49 am  · 
 ·