Archinect
anchor

How Did You Find That?

BlueSteel

materials?

I was curious how all of you go about finding the baadaasss stuff you're specifiing and building with... Everything from tile, to flooring, to windows/doors, and cladding.

Seems like one could spend the greater part of their time rifeling through websites to find that one company that is making the item you need. I am curious how this works in your office? Is there usually one person who is given the outline of what you are looking for and then is let lose to find it? Or, are you finding this stuff? Have you found good resources for stuff? Cool web-sites? Have you found contractors to be good sources?

I have very little experience with this and would love some stories or advice. Shameless plugs are encouraged.

thanks

May 13, 07 12:29 pm
xtbl
here

you go dude.

May 13, 07 12:37 pm  · 
 · 

hah hah he's giving me the Blue Steel pose!!

May 13, 07 2:57 pm  · 
 · 

No one dedicated to finding new materials, everyone does a little research for their projects and are usually advised when in-house presentations are made, on new products.

Otherwise during trade shows, magazines (MARK, Architectural Record/Review), some websites, or the best is simply to design what you need.

May 13, 07 3:00 pm  · 
 · 

i'll admit to being on the conservative side, but i usually pick one or two new materials/systems per job for which i think i have time for the learning curve. i enjoy learning about these things and i like to use the best solutions out there for any given problem, but i don't want to use something unless i've (as) fully (as possible) understood the implications of using it. guarantee: if it's unfamiliar to me, it unfamiliar to the contractor and i'm going to have to walk him through it. if i don't want to come off as stupid in the eyes of the contractor and the client, i have to know what i'm talking about.