Archinect
anchor

working in barcelona- is it really so bad?

phaus1

My wife is from barcelona and I'm from the states. We're planning on moving over there soon but I feel like all I hear about working in Barcelona, and Spain in general, is rather dire- poor salaries, impossible to get licensed.. But are these stories from young people with less experience and in need of a visa?

In my case I can live and work there because of my wife, and we can stay long term. I have 9 years experience, I'm licensed in the US, have a masters degree from a good school, and a little "starchitect" experience. My spanish is pretty OK, and I pick up some catalan from my wife. Any reason to think it might not be so bad after all?

Thanks!

Apr 27, 07 9:34 pm
Zoë Coombes

Make the move. Zoe and I always think about when will it be the right time to move to Barcelona. I have friends who have done this move and they never looked back. Barcelona is a great place and he quality of life is incredible. You might have to get used to the idea of less money but multiple vacation dates and long weekends.
Vinga capa Barcelona noi!
*I am Catalan (grew up mostly in the US) and my wife is from Toronto.

Apr 27, 07 11:57 pm  · 
 · 
Medit

with 9 years experience -including a starchitect in your CV-, a masters degree, fluid english (obvious in your case), enough spanish and some notions of catalan you will have problems to get a BAD job... I would say you have more chances to get a job in a GOOD office than I have, really...

Zoë, make that: "Vine cap a Barcelona, noi!" ["Come to Barcelona, boy!"]

Apr 28, 07 5:48 am  · 
 · 
phaus1

Moltes gracias- Thanks for the positive responses. I think we will go for it, I just need a little reassurance on occasion. It is much easier for me to imagine my future in the States, whereas in Spain there is a lot of uncertainty.