Archinect
anchor

Portfolio website vs. booklet

mberry

Does having an online portfolio website replace bringing in a physical booklet?

I am a recent BArch graduate on the job hunt and I have put all my time into designing/coding an online portfolio because I have digital work that can't be viewed properly in print form (videos, Arduino & Processing scripts) and I wanted to show my web design knowledge as well.  I have sent the link out with my job applications and I have (finally!) landed an interview.  

Is going over my portfolio online with the interviewer acceptable or is it assumed that I have a print version as well?  I don't want to bring a laptop, but at the same time I don't know if walking in with only a résumé and asking to be in a room with a computer or projector is awkward.  Would buying an iPad be a good investment so that it would still be hand-held and portable, without sacrificing showing all of my digital work?

Any advice greatly appreciated! 

Aug 25, 12 5:53 pm
momentum

An iPad or other similar digital device is of good use in this case.  Pre-load your website, animations, etc., and you are done.  Best part is that everything looks like it did on the screen with zero adjustments for print, and the interviewer can play Angry Birds if they get bored with you.  You just better hope your interface is intuitive, your labeling is right, and that you can explain things without having to sit right next to the interviewer; It's too difficult to look someone in the eye and ask them a question when that close.

If the iPad wont work, get to printing.

Aug 25, 12 11:06 pm  · 
 · 
rationalist