Archinect
anchor

Help! VT vs UB vs NJIT

heyser

Hi

So far, I've been accepted to the M.arch program of Virginia Tech, Northeastern U, SUNY-U Buffalo and New Jersey Institute of Technology. Well, I have no idea which school I should go. As an international student, I don't know much information about these schools. It seems that VT has a high ranking in architecture schools. But the locations of Northeastern and NJIT are good for finding job. I also heard that U Buffalo has a serious comparative literature department including famous contemporary theorists such as Gasche (who wrote on deconstruction).

Could you share your opinion about these schools? Thank you!

Apr 10, 07 12:25 pm
med.

Easily Virginia Tech.

Amazing facilities, excellent professors with excellent connections, state of the art technology, beautiful campus, great people, cheap cost of living, and cheap tuition. I've had an awesome time there.

Let me know if you need to know anything else about it.

Oh and according to the 2007 Design Intelligence it was ranked the #10 architecture grad prorgram overall and #2 public right under UVA.

Apr 10, 07 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
Buckity

NJIT is a good school in some respects, it shares factulty with Columbia and Cooper a lot and it has made a big committment to technology...but if you're interested in theory, I doubt it is the best program.

Apr 10, 07 5:00 pm  · 
 · 
db

well, you are right about Comp Lit and I'll add English Lit/Poetics at Buffalo. If that is an interest of yours, then definately they are the shit! and yes, do it.

Apr 10, 07 5:26 pm  · 
 · 
heyser

Thank you for all your opinion. I have accepted the offer of admission from VT. Hope I will have an awesome time there too. ^_^

Apr 11, 07 1:07 pm  · 
 · 
J3

try and do a semester @ WAAC! although MArco Frascari is long gone, it's still a pretty great experience to spend a semester in Old Town Alexandria and consume lot's of Misha's coffee.
Good luck!

Apr 11, 07 1:32 pm  · 
 · 
med.