Archinect
anchor

Oh look, another NYC salary thread!

Living in Gin

I have a copy of the 2005 AIA Compensation Survey, which is pretty comprehensive with its information. However, my situation is a little unique in that I don't fit neatly into any of the boxes under the job descriptions. Here's my vital stats:

I have 11 years work experience in architecture, including 3 years as a student intern at a corporate firm with a strong design ethic. Much of my experience has been fairly menial CAD monkey work, but more recently I've taken on more of a Project Architect role on some projects. Most of my projects have been smallish corporate interiors projects, but in 2003 I ended up being the designer and job captain on a complicated $12.5M addition/renovation to a landmark monastery, including a new chapel, on the Villanova University campus. My bosses and the client were very satisfied with my work on the project. (Some of you have seen this project in my portfolio.)

I know AutoCAD pretty much inside and out, I've singlehandedly drawn up a few sets of CD's by now, and I'm notorious in the office for being incredibly anal about proper drafting and detailing. Unfortunately, I don't yet have much experience with 3D rendering or BIM technology.

My educational background is where things get weird. I began a pre-professional architecture degree at UIC in 1995, left the program, and have been working on finishing my undergrad degree since then. Now I'm enrolled part-time at DePaul University, and expect to earn my BA with a focus in architectural practice this fall and begin my M.Arch. degree in 2008. So, although I have a decent amount of work experience, I don't yet have a professional degree in architecture.