Archinect
anchor

to Cincinnati or not to Cincinnati?

glutisolator615

Hello All,

I received an acceptance to the DAAP for an M. arch 1 and I would appreciate any advice you might give me or information about the program there.

According to DI they are ranked number 2. some people claim this is only because of their co-op program, and that the school itself isn't nearly as strong or cutting edge as several of the other programs out there. The co-op program would be great for me since I have no work experience in design. However, since it requires an extra year (for the 4+ prgm), doesn't it stand to reason that someone graduating from another institution in 3 years and then working professionally for a year would have the same or better standing when it comes to seeking out a job?

Mar 24, 07 3:09 pm
WonderK

Thank you for spelling it correctly.

What you need to take into account is that the co-op program at Cincy is like a little "trial work" program. As a co-op, you are guaranteed a work term of no longer than 6 months at a place, which is a very attractive proposition for many firms who like interns to come in and work hard for a time and then leave. Co-op therefore puts you in front of a huge number of firms, some of which are very high profile, and you get to put that on your resume, whereas when you graduate from a "regular" school, you are just like everyone else - trying to get a job with no work experience. In this respect, if you start out at the bottom and try to work your way to a better position, it might take quite a bit longer. Make sense?

Mar 24, 07 3:18 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

define cutting edge...

DAAP students make the best employees (in general), which is what the DI ratings are more or less about

Mar 24, 07 3:46 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

why is there sooooo much discussion about Cincinnati????