Archinect
anchor

nervous giving presentations?

planX

I have been practicing techniques for overcoming presentation anxiety,
and that is one of the reasons I am hesitant about going back to grad school. when I was an undergraduate public speaking was very difficult.
I know that is such a defeatist attitude, and no reason not to go back and do what I absolutely love to do. Can anyone else relate?

Mar 23, 07 12:42 am
garpike

Don't wear red. It only makes you look naked when your face turns red.

Or at least it does for me.

Mar 23, 07 12:49 am  · 
 · 
PostDepot

take some acting classes. from me...

Mar 23, 07 12:51 am  · 
 · 
nambypambics

Take a public speaking class. Preferably one where the instructor videotapes your presentation and then plays it back publicly.

It's painful for EVERYONE who must endure it, but your presence will improve so, so, so much after seeing the annoying/illegible things you do in front of an audience.

Mar 23, 07 12:54 am  · 
 · 
garpike

Oh man that gives me chills just thinking about it. Oh man. I have been meaning to take one of those courses for about 12 years now...

Mar 23, 07 12:57 am  · 
 · 
planX

thanks, I guess that helps me feel better.

Mar 23, 07 1:35 am  · 
 · 
garpike

Don't let this little thing stop you from going to grad school.

Mar 23, 07 1:38 am  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

do it more often. the more you speak in public the easier it gets...

i still get a bit nervous. when you see the likes to thom mayne (above) in your jury... it's hard not to.

though i've found in grad school nerves aren't so much of what gets you. it's the lack of sleep. 5 hours of sleep in 3 days... final reviews... yeah. not so good. i'm about a sharp as a wooden spoon at that point.

Mar 23, 07 1:41 am  · 
 · 
garpike

They say he carved it himself... from a bigger spoon.

Mar 23, 07 1:55 am  · 
 · 
strlt_typ
Mar 23, 07 3:57 am  · 
 · 

i learnt from an intern here, that before her presentations she always drinks 2 glasses of champagne.