Archinect
anchor

Turning music into architecture... I'm stumped

paintitblack

(first question, is there a way to search my previous threads? I had posted a few a while ago and wanted to check on the most recent responses, etc)

Okay, so I'm starting a portfolio from scratch for M.Arch school.  I don't know exactly where I'm applying yet, but not having an architecture background, I've worked out exactly what it is that I want to and need to showcase in this portfolio in order for it to be competitive.

My background is the music industry, and I have 10+ years on the piano and violin, and one poster here gave me the idea

of merging the two (music and arch) somehow into my portfolio.  Recently, I've been doing more reading up on it... there is a LOT of information out there but some of it is just over my head.  The most detailed work I've found is by Dmitri Tymoczko who wrote "The Geometry of Music" and created a computer program called ChordGeometries.

I guess I just don't know enough about advanced music theory and mathematics to get a real handle on it, but it looks like he takes chords, scales, and their relation together (and their frequencies?) and then (________)  <- does something to them that I don't understand, and then diagrams them in a 3D space.

What I want to do is write a brief paper about the relationship of music and architecture, "diagram" a musical piece, and then somehow turn that diagram into a liveable structure.  But I'm just feeling in the dark here.  Is this one of those things that is too new to pin down to one specific method?  

Has anyone done this before?  I'm not sure where to start.

Jul 21, 12 6:15 pm
bob/bob

I think that this approach might be a mistake.  As you are untrained, you are unlikely to produce a competent structure or use the iterative design process that you will be taught in school.  I was accepted into most of the programs I applied to with a portfolio that only hinted at an interest in architecture.