Archinect
anchor

What is a typical starting salary or hourly wage for a recent 5-year B.Arch graduate in New York City at a small firm?

I am a recent graduate with a 5-year B. Arch from UT Austin. I am planning to move to New York at the end of the month, but am still looking for a job and a place to live. I am trying to do some budgetting and figure out how to approach this transition.

What is a reasonable wage or salary I can expect to make at a small architecture or interior design firm--not a starchitect, but not a cooperate firm either?

How much of an advantage is it to be in the city looking for a job and a place to live, as opposed to searching from Austin, TX and why is it so advantageous?

I have been checking craigslist for places to live in Brooklyn primarily. I know I will need to live with roommates and I actually have a friend to look for a 2BR with. Is it possible to find a place in Williamsburg, Greenpoint, Park Slope for between $500-$1000/month per person? Where else should I look?

Am I crazy for wanting to move to NYC without a job and place to live yet?

Thank you!

-B

Jul 10, 12 4:50 pm
zonker

Brian

You don't have any debts do you? 

Is this common sense or something you want to do? Sometimes it's better to do what makes the most sense instead of a speculative gamble that carries a high price for failure. 

decisions that pave the way to financial irresponsibility have long and serious consequences - esp in this economy - what goes down doesn't necessarily come back up.

Jul 10, 12 5:26 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

yes.

Jobs usually start at 18+/hr for a recent grad with some experience interning at firms during school.  If you don't have any work experience whatsoever, expect less and not finding a job at this economic situation.  You'll have to have a kick ass portfolio to find a job.

Jul 10, 12 7:34 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

Brian,