Archinect
anchor

what is FAIA?

recently i had several of my friends ask what exactly is the F in FAIA....and i have no idea myself. I'm a 5th year student and my only understanding is that the FAIA was sort of like a tenure member of AIA.... if that makes sense. can someone help me out please?

Feb 20, 07 9:55 pm

"Fellow"

Feb 20, 07 9:58 pm  · 
 · 
some person
abracadabra, faia
Feb 20, 07 10:01 pm  · 
 · 
abracadabra

haha. a new episode is coming soon.

Feb 20, 07 10:25 pm  · 
 · 
pettydesign

so what does the "fellow" mean? is it something you have to be elected to?

Feb 20, 07 10:49 pm  · 
 · 

yes. Every year, the AIA recieves bunches of applications, and picks who they want to elect to the College of Fellows.

Feb 20, 07 10:59 pm  · 
 · 
some person

It took our marketing department a significant dedication of time and effort to prepare one of our principal's FAIA application/book.

To earn this prestigeous distinction, one needs to prove an outstanding commitment or achievement in a specific field of architecture.

Feb 20, 07 11:24 pm  · 
 · 
ChAOS

i'm sure i'll leave something(s) out or perhaps will get something(s) slightly wrong but in essence:

fellowship status is achieved b/c a person has made a significant or multiple contributions to the profession at typically the national level or that has had an impact at the national level even if completed at the local or state level, and have been members of the aia for at least 10 years (please someone correct me if i'm wrong with the time). for example, a friend of mine helped propose and write the energy code, another has made signigicant contributions to the k-12 system in terms of the effects of the built environment.

to be awarded the FAIA someone has to nominate you, there are a number of letters that must be written and an extreme amount of documentation on both the part of the nominator and the nominee.