Archinect
anchor

business end of architecture. (construction administration)

jaol

I am currently a student taking a course on construction management and administration and basically what we talk about in the class touches on everything related in the field of architecture other than the design of a building (everthing not normally taught in archtiecture school.) I have been reading the popular discussions quite a bit in the last six months and a typical theme has been how little an architect makes. My professor in this class has eluded to the fact that an archtiect can make very comfortable wages and she even goes to make figures to us through the business end of architecture (bugets, cost, and margin of profit.)

1) As an informed person in the profession, if I were to prove to an employer my value in the workplace as far as my labor, can that have an effect on my wages, especially since I think that I may be an asset to a particular firm? It seems as though the business of architecture is kept on low profile such that many people have no conception of what kind of an asset they are to a firm so labor costs are kept low.
2) What if I get that kind of bargaining power. Does that ever work for anyone. People that employ others, would you consider this if you knew that an employee was an asset and was doing well at keeping things afloat?
3) I know that I am 22 years old and in college still, and making about 10.00 an hour, but if I were to prove to them that I knew what I did to make them(my bosses) money would you think that I could negotiate a raise?

Jan 26, 07 1:33 pm
el jeffe

you're competing with others to GET a job, so you'll most likely be paid (initially) what anyone else would be paid for the same position.

once you have a job, the responsibility to prove your value is yours alone.

keep in mind that large offices often have discrete pay levels, for various reasons, not the least of which is to allow them to budget labor costs easily.