Archinect
anchor

Lighting & Stage Design

paintitblack

I did a brief google and forum search and didn't find a whole lot about this as it relates to architecture.  Which leads me to wonder, is this along the same lines as architecture, or something completely different altogether?

I am a college grad with an utterly worthless degree.  I am planning on going back to school in the next year or so to get a degree, preferably in architecture, as I'm interested in  structure and design.  However, I know the field ebbs and flows with the economy, and that things have been difficult recently.  Ideally, I'd like to be able to move in and out of other fields related to architecture, learn as much as I can in different related areas so that work will be easier to come by.

My main question is:  Are lighting and stage design at all related to architecture? Anyone ever dabbled into either of these?  Andi Watson, Radiohead's lighting designer comes to mind http://www.amazon.com/Bullet-Proof-Wish-Was/dp/0811874583#_

I'm extremely interested in concert stage and lighting setups and am curious if architects would be able to slide into this field, or if it is a completely different set of knowledge.

Thanks for any and all input!

Jun 12, 12 1:35 pm
mdler

http://www.stufish.com/

this is all you need to know

Jun 12, 12 8:54 pm  · 
 · 
paintitblack

Thank you!

Jun 15, 12 12:43 pm  · 
 · 

Of course they are related to the architecture! Boh of them! Have you any ather interest except design? For example I am interested in a web design besides the architecture. Here's one of my works http://www.themodernman.com/. What can you say about it?

Jun 18, 12 10:22 am  · 
 · 
mdler

may not want to go work for Radioheads designer after last weekends little disaster in Canada

Jun 18, 12 7:40 pm  · 
 · 
paintitblack