Archinect
anchor

hurting the world

ckp

I am pinned under a moral crisis.

I have been working in a firm for the past 4 years since graduating from college. The work that we produce is your slightly better than average typical mimicry, better in that it sort of has a sense of humor. While the work has not pushed any design envelopes, it has been plentiful, providing me with alot of experience and responsiblity in a short period of time.

The owners are kind and patient people but are convinced that green architecture is a silly hippie fad. I have been slipping some green products into construction drawings, but the building ideas and situationa are fundimentally flawed. So slipping in some hardi-trim instead of PVC seems like a good start, but ulitmately it's just trying to make an inefficient thing "less bad".

So, I'm left with a sick feeling in my stomach and some decisions to make. It's one thing to continue to "stylize" buildings, but it is another thing to deny that an energy crisis exists.

Am I lucky to be in a position in which I could really fight to make a difference with a few pieces of hardi-trim surrounding the EIFS facade-or should I run for my life?

Jan 15, 07 2:55 pm
Blue202

I feel like it's a better opportunity to convert a firm that currently has no green agenda than to run to a firm that already has a well-established green agenda.

If you can somehow convince your bosses that this is a worthwhile endeavor (most likely through monetary gains for the firm), then you have greatly succeeded.

I am currently leading the charge at my firm to establish green practices. The firm's leadership backs my efforts, but I fear that it's only from a marketing standpoint. However, it's making a difference in a firm that had not previously thought sustainable architecture was valuable.

If it's truly a dead-end in your firm, you should run for your life, but i would give it a serious effort first.

Jan 15, 07 3:12 pm  · 
 · 
4arch