Archinect
anchor

Resume Help!?

spaghetti

Quick question: Does anybody know of any references for resumes? I have two years experience in one firm, and am wondering if there is a standard that employees expect in terms of resume? (not portfolio). ie. do i list projects i have worked on in detail? or just list phases ive been involved in?

any advice would be appreciated!!

Also, just a general question: what do people use CV's for as opposed to resumes?
thnx guys.

Dec 20, 06 11:01 pm
alfrejas24

Sorry spaghetti I don't know of any specific references. But I did just redo my own resume and have only 2 years experience with one firm. What I did is made all my bullet points describe my responsibilities with an example or relate it to a specific job. For example

•Created rendered illustrations for housing developer’s marketing materials.

&

•Redesigned an existing residence to accommodate wheelchair accessibility.

I hope this helps

Good luck!

Dec 20, 06 11:25 pm  · 
 · 
spaghetti

thanks! are you an interior designer? (I am, at least education wise.) I was just guessing from those two things you wrote

Dec 20, 06 11:30 pm  · 
 · 
alfrejas24

bingo....although i guess I can't technically call myself one without passing the NCIDQ exams first.

Dec 20, 06 11:34 pm  · 
 · 
spaghetti

i bet you can call yourself one. just becareful on archinect. hehe. jk.

i almost got the urge to take those once(NCIDQ), but realized they are a crock of !@##$@. i think most people chuckle if you do write that on your name.
but since you cant take AREs with your design degree, you might as well take LEED in the meantime. those almost are worth something. although im not sure if they have gotten more progressive since i last saw the LEED points system.

Dec 20, 06 11:38 pm  · 
 · 
myriam