Archinect
anchor

Hey, Architecters from Madison, WI

jaol

Hey everyone from Madison, WI. I am currently a UG student at IIT in Chicago. I work Part time at a small firm in Printer's Row(Clark and Harrison) who works on a real mixed bag of projects Chicago Public Schools, Smaller Residential, Small Commercial, and Healthcare, and a developer, Thomas Roszak, Who has a pretty cool house that we worked on.

Well anyways, I guess this is one of those grueling profession questions. It seems as though the City of Chicago is VERY competitive when looking for jobs. And in my opinion sometimes maybe employers can really take advantage of the fact that they can pay less because people desire to work in such a great city, the ability to find heaps of talent without paying much......Now for the Madison WI part. Is it the same there?? My family mainly lives there and it seems to be much easier to find cheaper housing, and traveling from home to work by car must be easier as long as you dont have to deal with the beltline traffic. Are there good opportunities in Madison WI for someone like me that would potentially look in the Madison area when I graduate in a year from now from school? Would it be a good idea to get a post professional degree for just a year extra in school?

Is there anyone who has gotten a post professional degree and it has served them well in their careers, or is it just best to stick with just the professional Bachelors Degree. I guess I think that it may offer me more open doors, but i dont want to disappoint myself and spend the money if it doesn't.

Is there particular advice about Madison and the profession there?

Dec 19, 06 12:42 am
AbrahamNR

I've only been to Madison once, but I studied in UWM so a lot of my friends are from the Madison area and have gotten jobs there. It seems most of the big firms in Wisco have offices in both Madison and Milwaukee (Plunkett Raysich, Kahler Slater, Engberg Anderson, etc.), so you could try those.