Archinect
anchor

Taking time off between undergrad and grad school...

Uros

So, I completed my undergrad in arch. in the Spring of 2006. I have until February to submit my portfolio to certain schools. I have no experience in an office and my portfolio at the moment is not my best work...I am debating on taking another year off - to find a job and just take my time... maybe travel. (o...and study for the GRE because my first score was awful) Anyone in the same boat? Anyone with any thoughts about this? Thanks :)

Dec 6, 06 1:01 am
SuperHeavy

yes, take time off.

you enter college most likely coming off of high school, are thrown into this dizzying experience of studio education, and pop out in 4 years on the other side with a degree and trying to figure out what happened. your time off is to figure out what happened, who you are, why you like architecture, why you hate architecture, etc etc etc.

get your app stuff up a bit, TRAVEL!!, head back in another year. getting licensed isn't a race.

Dec 6, 06 2:24 am  · 
 · 
myriam

If you're having any doubts at all, take the time off. I would always encourage people to take time off anyway, no matter what--I see almost no benefit to stacking intense periods of education one on top of the other. I really think you have to allow your brain time to breathe and grow before dosing it in architectural rigor once more.

Dec 6, 06 2:33 am  · 
 · 
myriam

I took a semester-long leave of absence during school and when I came back I was refreshed, reinvoragorated, enjoyed what I did much more, and best of all, was way better at designing and retaining concepts than I was before I left.

Dec 6, 06 2:34 am  · 
 · 
24out1in

myriam- love your advice, I am currently in my 3rd year of taking time off and can't wait to go back.