Archinect
anchor

Should I step it up with the managing director?

BOTS

I work for a large coporate practice in Britain. Current I am a Project Architect of 3 years, my task is to ”˜deliver' urban regeneration developments from our friendly corporate developer buddies. Everything from retiail, commercial and residential developments between £4m to £50m. As well as helping out other projects in my directors team (mostly early design and concept) I am running a £11m D&B urban redevelopment with the help from some naïve students (new intake for one year just arrived).

I'm up for annual review shortly and RIBA journal have just published the latest figures on salaries. A shot exert below - currency converter. http://www.xe.com/ucc/

Dawning of new age values
August 2004

Architectural salaries have only risen slightly in the past year, according to the RIBA's annual employment and earnings survey. But the demand for staff has given more bargaining power to both young and older architects. By Eleanor Young RIBA Jounal Aug 04

At both ends of the age spectrum the market is flexing its muscles. Too much or too little age and experience used to command the lowest wages of the profession. This year, those past official retirement age saw their salaries leap by more than 25%, while those with less than three years' experience had an 11% rise.
Architects' fortunes have paralleled the economy. Both have seen steady - prudent - growth under Chancellor Gordon Brown. Generous public spending has fed architects a rise in median salaries to £36,027, up from £35,000 last year (the median is the halfway point between all the figures rather than the average). This stability runs across the industry; construction professionals' rise of 8.2% brings the average up to that of architects.

Oldies earn more