Archinect
anchor

Too Old To Be an Architecture Grad Student?

dallasarchitect

Hi!

I'm 31, and I am planning to start to grad school in the summer of 2007 for my M.Arch degree. Do you think I'm too old to be starting a career as an architect? I mean by the time I finish my degree I'll be 35 then 38 by time I can practice on my own/be licensed so that leaves 3 years where I'll be interning probably for people younger than me??

I have had my own interior design business for 4 years and I have a Bachelors Degree in Interior Architecture and Design as well as a business degree in marketing. I am hoping that I will be seen as desirable to architecture firms in the future for having both an interior design degree and an architecture degree.

Any thoughts??

Nov 14, 06 5:59 am

never too old. (and younger than i was.)

Nov 14, 06 7:32 am  · 
 · 

really steven? cool.

31 is not old at all. lots of us were in our 30's in grad school...most of us married, with kids or kids on the way...maturity is a good thing for architects.

Nov 14, 06 9:29 am  · 
 · 
Bloopox

The average age in most first-professional M.Arch programs (these are the 3 or 3.5 year programs for people without a B.Arch) is about 28. My class had a few folks in it that were in their 40s, about a third of the class was in their 30s, and the class 2 years ahead of mine had a woman in her mid 50s.

Nov 14, 06 9:30 am  · 
 · 
Bloopox