Archinect
anchor

Question - Is it so difficult to get a job in the United States?

12x12surface

Hey ya'll

I graduated college in the United States in 2003. Because I had to return to my home country to do mandatory military service, I was only able to start looking for a job this year (2006).

As such, I wasn't able to do my OPT... However, having fulfilled all my national obligations for the military, I have now returned to the United States (Seattle) to look for a job.

So far, I have not been successful at all in gettig any interviews, largely because they are not hiring people who require a working visa. I've so far gone through about 10 firms... and it's pretty frustrating to have a good portfolio, but not get an interviews because the firms are not willing to help me with the visa.

I'd informed them that I was willing to pay the $1000 visa fee, but the firms replied that they there other costs on their end, and they cannot justify the amount of money and time spent in helping me with the application...

What I like to know is, is it generally so difficult for a non-US citizen to get a job in the US? How many international people are hired at your office that didn't go through OPT?

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I may apply for a job in the United States?

Dan

Oct 18, 06 8:51 pm
Bloopox

Some of the issues: