Archinect
anchor

Juggling work and applying for grad school-advice would help

planX

I am applying to east coast schools for enrollment in fall "07.
I have a slow paced job, which is nice, but I have been working here for 8 1/2 years and I still do not have a full 2weeks off for vac. time to go and visit the schools! My boss and I are not getting along since that subject causes tension with him. I am applying to 4 schools. I am getting recomm. letters and working on my portfolio all of the time. How much time do I need to go visit with my grad. advisors and maybe interview to apply scholarships. Should I get a new job for one year that has more vac. time. Any advice would help. Thanks

Oct 12, 06 2:46 pm

I wouldn't try getting a new job, because when you've worked there for less than a year, you will probably get even LESS vacation time.

Are the schools in a semi-concentrated area? I would say shoot for one day/night at each.

Oct 12, 06 3:20 pm  · 
 · 

oh, and btw, I'm in the same sort of place only my employer doesn't know, and I'm taking night classes. So I feel your pain. I'm not visiting any schools until acceptance letters go out, so that I only have to visit the shortlist (applying to 6).

Oct 12, 06 3:21 pm  · 
 · 
Aluminate

Most of the usual-suspect M.Arch programs don't require interviews - and some don't do them at all. Before you get too worried about your schedule I'd check the procedures of the 4 schools you're considering. There isn't usually a lot of meeting with advisors or anything like that during the admissions procedures at most architecture schools. Admissions are based very heavily on portfolios, with recommendations and statements of purpose tied for a somewhat distant second place in terms of importance, and GPA and GRE scores figuring much less importantly. Interviews are usually more informational and mostly for the prospective students' benefit.