Archinect
anchor

new job-no work

candice

So...I've been at this place over about 2 months and I came kind of at the end of a project. for the last 2 weeks or so I have had virtually NO work. I am literally sitting at my desk looking through project folders online and checking my gmail account. Other than asking the project manager when i am going to get going on the project (he usually replies soon and nothing happens) i don't know what to do.
This is a small office and I am beginning to think I made a mistake leaving my old job to come here. I have over 2 years experience and so far this place has NOT been as advertised.
No one else seems to be in my situation and its driving me nuts! I don't know how to go about changing this.
Help!

Sep 27, 06 11:10 am
Chili Davis

That is why God gave us Archinect.

Sep 27, 06 11:15 am  · 
 · 
treekiller

study for the ARE or LEED

Show some initiative and organize the carpet samples

Find a competition and enter it

(work on your portfolio)

Sep 27, 06 11:18 am  · 
 · 
candice

thanks, but none of those suggestions
And that doesn't solve my problem.

seriously...I need some real help!

Sep 27, 06 11:23 am  · 
 · 
kyll

i agree with treekiller.

we are all very creative.... ok most of us are....alright- some

point is - use that creativity to make the most out of the situation, grab a hold of the "free time" that you have- and take a risk-

friggin re-render an existing projects rendering just because you can.

re-draw a detail for more efficiency.

look up the project specs and find out the nuts and bolts of the project beforehand.

sketch she-ra vs he-man in a corb building and post it in the kitchen for laughs

ok that last one you should do first

definitely

Sep 27, 06 11:24 am  · 
 · 
candice