Archinect
anchor

Help for job decision!

whitesandboy

Currently I'm considering 2 firms, one is a huge corporate and the other is also big, but not as huge as the first one. I need to be on H-1 visa, so I want secure job. The bigger one has nicer design quality. I wonder how it affects my future career. As an entry level architect, I want to learn how to deal with materials and details to actualize design. Do you guys think it really matters to work on good quality design? I mean, based on experiences, I found working in a firm is not like working in studio at school. Almost all projects in the real world is just 'practical'. I feel all firms are same in terms of 'design process', of course I could have different chance to learn about how to use materials etc.
Another thing I'm concerned about is name value. One is big name corporate and nobody knows about the other one. But I feel more comfortable and secure in the latter. I was told that in the big name corporate firm, I have to work like a machine all day and there is no interaction between staffs. The smaller one has more comfortable environment.
Also I'm wondering about what it's like to move from small firm to bigger one. Some say it's difficult to move from small firm to big one. Some say the opposite. I don't know what is true in reality.
What would be your choice? I know this is very difficult question, thanks for your 2cents. Please don't blame me for indecision.

Sep 24, 06 2:37 pm
liberty bell

The recognizable name of a big firm makes little to no difference, in my opinion - it might be different if it was a recognizable boutique firm.

A smaller firm that will expose you to more of the incredibly varied aspects of the profession would be more valuable to you. Baptism by fire - beiong thrown into challenges and learning by doing them - is the best way to learn a lot, quickly.