Archinect
anchor

Insurance

heavydeeds

I am a young self-emplyoed architect looking into insurance for the first time. Does anyone have any info to share on how architects fare in the court of law...how often we get sued, for how much, and how often we lose?

It doesnt seem right that our fees are usually so much less than the potential expense of a small mistake. I suppose the courts probably acknowledge this fact.

Sep 19, 06 12:51 pm
el jeffe

as a client once remarked (about architects in general) after declining to help him by drafting some precast concrete shop drawings due to liability, "whaddya mean - you swim in an ocean of liability."

talk to your E&O insurance rep - they'll know.

Sep 19, 06 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
Janosh

And the best way to make sure that you don't get sued is make sure that you don't have any assets. Lawyers call it being "judgement averse". Should be easy if you are just starting out.

Sep 19, 06 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
heavydeeds

too late. I own a house......

seems like somewhere there should be statistics. and legal precedents on file. I assume that the insurance companies base the rates on something scientific.

Sep 19, 06 3:09 pm  · 
 · 
myriam

Isn't there a way to protect private holdings (such as a house) from seizure in company liability cases? You should ask about that. Perhaps you need to set up your business a certain way to make this happen.

Sep 19, 06 3:23 pm  · 
 · 
heavydeeds

I have been advised that as a sole proprietor LLCs dont hold up in court.
works if you have employees or partners.

Sep 19, 06 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
Janosh

Also, as a licensed professional you can still be held personally responsible for acts of negligence or ommission even if you are otherwise protected by incorporation.

Sep 19, 06 3:49 pm  · 
 · 
evilplatypus