Archinect
anchor

In-the-Closet or Out-of-the-Closet?

Nevermore

This thread needs vindpust

Sep 11, 06 1:58 am  · 
 · 
the cellardoor whore

an architect, but mainly interested in flamenco dancing and sex on weekends.

Sep 11, 06 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
Dapper Napper

"Architect" has a nice zing to it.

"What you're a coding & billing analyst, well I'm an architect"

No explanantion necessary. It goes well with the monosyllabic answers I like to give.

Sep 11, 06 2:08 pm  · 
 · 
myriam

I always get a surprised look. Not sure why...? "...Oh! Wow!" (then awkward silence while I watch them closely.)

Sep 11, 06 6:17 pm  · 
 · 
antipod

Nah. Freelance Biscuit Designer...or Crowd Estimator....yeah, that'll confuse the hell out of em!

Sep 12, 06 8:57 am  · 
 · 
assbackward

I tell people I've just met, and my parents' friends, that I'm just starting as an architecture student, and explain to them how long it takes, and that it will be at least another half-dozen years until I can call myself an architect. Inevitably, five minutes later, that person will say to someone else, "assbackward's an architect," as if the years-long process I just spent five minutes explaining is already over, and it's as easy to become an architect as it is to become a real-estate agent or something.

Sep 18, 06 2:12 am  · 
 · 
freq_arch

Funny, I went to a party Thursday night, and in the span of five minutes, got three of those ridiculous comments: the 'smart' one, the 'math' one and one that severely oversimplifies the profession (I forget the specifics now - I pretty much started daydreaming after the 'smart' comment).
By the way, the correct reply to the 'you must be smart' comment really is 'Yes, I am', but I've not had the nerve yet to actually use it.

Sep 18, 06 11:39 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

im sure the people sitting next to liberty,wonderk and me were all impressed by our name dropping of famous people that we have encountered along the way. did you notice we were talking louder then?