Archinect
anchor

interns in Los Angeles.. where to start?!

bUbBLe

i am a young undergrad archi student never ever work in my life, realize that if i do not have any archi expenience, no one is going to hire me after i graduate.
so now i m going to be in my 5th and last year of school, i m planning to look for a internship, currently working on my resume and design sheet.. but i have no idea how i can find a job?!
how i can find out those small to mid-size firm?!
is there somewhere i can search every single firm in Los Angeles area?
i m losing..

Jul 17, 04 5:15 am
mad+dash

from past experience, persistence counts for a lot. i would pick out the firms you respect, whose work you are truly interested in, and send letters(not e-mails), and make follow-up phone calls saying how interested you are. if you are willing to take the hit, say you are willing to work for free and you have flexible hours. enthusiasm counts for a lot since the nature of architecture firms and the long hours that entail could use young and eager minds.

Jul 17, 04 7:05 am  · 
 · 
on my way

Start w/craigslist. There are a considerable number of postings there... In fact, here's one right here:

We are an emerging architecture firm located in Hollywood with residential and commercial work in progress. Currently we are seeking an intern or two with strong physical and/or computer modeling skills. There may also be need for assisting in document production work for applciants with some level of experience. The position(s) will likely be part time to start with.

http://losangeles.craigslist.org/egr/36668685.html

Jul 18, 04 2:25 pm  · 
 · 
R.A. Rudolph